Day 995 Remember when that old pic was cool

19 10 2015

 

The most amazing women in the world turned 73 today. That women is my mom. I couldn’t be more thankful for her. She is a giver of everything, she never let’s you down. She’s strong enough to smack you around if need be but hug you until you feel whole again. She has never asked for anything, when she always should have.
When nobody else was there for me she always was. Today is a celebration of one of the greatest women God created. Thank you for the example you are to the world. We all got to spend time with my mom today and yesterday. Even through her Parkinson’s she not missing a beat.

I was speaking to a customer last week. They were very wealthy and some very exotic things and just neat things that you don’t normally see in people’s homes. I was in awe of his wood workings and chess, sets, and musical instrument he had made. HE had some made of black African veneer which is $500 a sheet and just stunningly beautiful. I started asking about each pieces and he stopped me and said you know whats really sad. I walk by these pieces everyday and I don’t notice them anymore. He told me a story about a home he had in Santa Barbara CA I knew exactly where it was. I said it was the most beautiful view of the world I ve seen. He said I lived there 15 years and I stopped even noticing its beauty until last month I went back  and  I lived there after for 15 years and 14 years into it I stopped noticing it. He asked me do you remember a cool pic you took or a piece of art etc.. you put on the wall and 6 months later you haven’t looked at once. Not until someone else mentions it to you do you appreciate it again then it fades away again quickly.

When I drove away I thought about all the says I have on my wall, pics of my kids, a couple of really cool art pieces and that I haven’t looked at them in months. I have family rules on my wall and I’ve broken all of them maybe because I never look at my rules.  It made me think a lot about what we take for granted and that everything. Not just some old pic,  or art, or stuff but our relationships, our family, our job. I’m not sure why we do but we do everyday until: Life happens , someone gets sick, we lose a job, a relationship ends that we never knew would. We do it with God and not until the bottom starts falling out of our life do we start seeing the view differently. I wish the words of this blog would cause me to wake up differently and see something differently tomorrow. I wish that you would say because of you I looked at a photo on my wall and remembered how blessed I am, Or I walked into my kid’s bedroom and no matter how mad I was at them today I love them so, or your spouse that your ready to give up you remember today why you fell in love in the first place and rather than quitting on your marriage you decided to stay and fight for it.

My failures are not because of what I don’t have, my failures come from not being grateful for what I do have. The attitude of gratitude is waning. Try tonight or tomorrow  to see the view, the family, the old pic when it was cool. Be grateful because when its gone it never comes back.

Actions

Information

One response

19 10 2015
VocareMentor

I will “try tonight or tomorrow to see the view, the family, the old pic when it was cool.” And I will try to “be grateful.” Excellent post! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Light of Darkness

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

