Day 559 Be like the Cool Kids

10 08 2014

Hanging out last night you always hear very intriguing conversations and this one I didn’t expect to hear at a bar. There’s a song out right now by a band called Echosmith Cool Kids and its about wanting to be one of the cool kids in school. Here are the lyrics:

[Verse 1]
She sees them walking in a straight line, that’s not really her style
They all got the same heartbeat, but hers is falling behind

Nothing in this world could ever bring them down
Yeah, they’re invincible and she’s just in the background
And she says

[Hook]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids

[Verse 2]
He sees them talking with a big smile, but they haven’t got a clue
Yeah, they’re living the good life, can’t see what he is going through
They’re driving fast cars, but they don’t know where they’re going
In the fast lane, living life without knowing
And he says

[Hook 2]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to get it
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids
And they said

[Outro]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids cuz all the cool kids, they seem to get it
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids

message of the song is simple: the coolest thing you can be is yourself. But more often than not, kids, teenagers, or even adults that they relate to the kids they’re singing about. That they feel like the outsider looking in.

The cry to be like the cool kids… it’s something that everyone kind of goes through whether you want to act like it or not, There’s always somebody out there that you kind of wish, If only I could do this, or do that.’ I think that’s why the song connects with people so well. Which leads me to the conversation last night.

The conversation was between around 21-year-old kids and they were talking about how they always wished they would have been cool kids. They had everything, everything was easy, they had no problems. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing but then I remembered high school and how people thought of the cool kids. I was never the cool kid just popular because I treated everybody with respect but I knew the “cool kids” and hung with some of the them. I saw the problems, I saw the drug use, the alcohol, the crappy home life, but we always choose what we want to see. Money or being cool didn’t solve crap. Now a lot of the “cool  kids” struggle and people seem surprised at the reunion or parties or get togethers that there life hasn’t gone the way we thought it would. I understand  how kids can relate because they really don’t know better.  We have adults though think and believe the same way. We see Peoples FB posts, or we see this or that. We hear from someone elses screwed up perspective how great someones elses life is based on what we see outside of the home or on FB. Once the door closes on someone’s home I promise nobody is a cool kid. Sure some are better than others but everybody is in a season. It may be good now but  seasons change. So what does all this mean: Stop trying to be like someone else, living their life, or wishing you had their life because one day you may just get it and being the cool kid ain’t easy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

This is My Story, This is My Song.

This is my journey with faith, love, acceptance, redemption through God's incredible grace and mercy!

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sound of Silence

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

