Day 552 I would have been a great disciple

4 08 2014

Another great weekend with my babies. We had a pool party, Chuck E cheese, (I can’t stand that place) and today we went to the Ringling Brothers circus. I’m amazed at how athletic and hard the stunts performed in the Circus. I must say I wanted a tiger to eat the trainer just for my benefit but it didn’t happen. We paid $16.00 for a sno-cone. I think my dad rolled over in his grave but its a one time thing.

I truly mean this after studying the disciples hat I would have been a great one. Jesus picked each of the apostles; none of them chose Jesus until he had first chosen them. Jesus didn’t choose them based on social status, intelligence, spiritual maturity or personalities. He chose them for his own reasons and for his own purposes. Even though Jesus chose the 12 disciples, they still had flaws and failings, just like everybody else; they weren’t more holy than anybody else was then, or is today. See I meet all of those requirements. So Ill continue:

Betrayal- Judas did a really good of betrayal when he laid the high priest to Jesus for 30 pieces of silver. I have betrayed a few people for money in my life not for Jesus but I bet back in the day it would have made sense somehow for me.

Unbelief: During Jesus’ ministry on earth, He performed many signs and miracles. Although the disciples witnessed the vast majority of these signs, they still had problems believing that Jesus Christ was the Son of God. The most notable doubter is the apostle Thomas. Thomas doubted throughout Jesus’ entire ministry; even when God raised Jesus from the dead, Thomas still needed more evidence. It wasn’t until he felt Jesus’ prior wounds, which had been inflicted upon him on the cross, that he fully believed in the Son of God. I was definitely and still a doubting Thomas many times.

Abandonment: Every apostle, except for John, abandoned Jesus during his capture, trial, flagellation and crucifixion. The disciples were all guilty of cowardice; although Jesus had told them about his future capture and execution, the disciples were still greatly afraid and unwilling to trust God. Jesus predicted on the Mount of Olives that this would happen. IM still doing this as of today!

Confusion: Throughout the four Gospel accounts, the disciples show themselves to be confused and misguided time and time again. An example of this is found in Matthew 16:22-23. This passage describes a conversation between Jesus and Peter, in which Peter rebukes Jesus for predicting his own death. Jesus then harshly rebukes Peter, telling him that he does not have his mind-set on the things of God, but on the things of man. It was only after Jesus’ death, resurrection and ascension into heaven that the disciples really began to show doctrinal clarity.

So why do I say this today: No matter how bad you think you are, what you have done,  Jesus chose people like you and I. He didn’t pick the “best”. But the fallen, the broken and the flawed. I would have been one of the best based on the criteria Jesus chose. Get out and be disciples because your story can change lives too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Light of Darkness

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Sarcastic Beauty Queen Xx

Still figuring it out.....

