Day 460 Its over

5 05 2014

Spent my weekend in Austin in the Texas Rugby Championships. Got to sight see and if you have never Austin has everything. People, food, bats, and places. Ate well and healthy and somewhat healthy.  The one thing I was disappointed in was the unfriendliness of people. I try to speak and wave to a lot of people. The response back was almost none. It’s the first time it had ever been that way there maybe because the high Saturday reached 95 and it was to hot for May.

For 17 years I have played the most physically violent sport on the plant. I have loved it and hated it. I have won state championships, played in Western US championships, played teams from all over the world. Have won way more than I lost and been very humbled with butt kickings that taught me so much. Saturday we lost in the TRU championships in Austin. The first 15 minutes we played better than we had all year. We got inside the 5 yard line 3 times and only scored once. If you have placed sports you know that can be a killer and it was. The outcome sucked but I was so proud of how we played.  I walked off the field for my final time. I have been playing the past 7 weeks with a  fractured ankle so saying walked was an understatement. I actually teared up when I got to he sidelines because I’m no longer an athlete. I’m retired(I promise this time) I have played contact sports since I was 5.  33 years later my body is a mess but I’m a warrior and couldn’t be more proud of what I accomplished over the 33 years. Its hard knowing that I REALLY am done but its time to find something else to do. Rugby has given me my best friends and tons of memories both Good and bad.  No I get Tuesdays, Thursday nights back and Saturdays. Not much more to say but what a ride!

Actions

Information

One response

9 05 2014
Kev

Didn’t know they played Rugby over there…not AF without the crash helmets is it? 😉

Leave a Reply

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

This is My Story, This is My Song.

This is my journey with faith, love, acceptance, redemption through God's incredible grace and mercy!

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sound of Silence

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

