Day 461 Damn you marriage

16 04 2014

The surgery happened today and it turned out great. Like all parent you struggle with your own emotions of nerves and being afraid. I’ve said many times that I m have girl with my emotions. My daughter got her IV and I was holding her hand  and she started crying. I felt my tears coming because I have been where she was and I know the fear of the unknown.  I was kissing her hair and telling her how much I loved her and she cried out I’m afraid and came with the tears. I’m glad I was above her because my tears came too. I wiped them on her pillow and kept whispering in her ear how amazing she was and how proud of her I was. They gave her the magic medicine and then she went to lala land. Toughest day being a parent so far. I love my daughter so much and then when I got home my son loved on his sister and I realized just how amazing my kids were again.

The other good thing is actually got some time to read. I m reading a book called The Meaning of Marriage by Timothy Keller. If your married, going to be, or hope to be again its a must read. Here are a few reasons why:

Modern culture has us believe that everyone has 1 soul mate, romance is the most important part of a successful marriage, your spouse is supposed to help you realize your potential, marriage does not mean forever, but merely for now,  and starting over after divorce is the best solution to seemingly intractable marriage issues: And all the modern-day assumptions are wrong! Yep Wrong! I can’t give you all the answers in this blog but you need to read the book.

Here are a few of the thoughts for your reading enjoyment. I always get tired of hearing these sentimental talks on marriage. At weddings, in church, and in Sunday school, much of what I’ve heard on the subject has about as much meaning as a conversation about the Dallas Cowboys winning another Superbowl. Marriage is many things , it is anything but sentimental. Marriage is amazing but one of the hardiest things we will ever do. It is blood, sweat . tears, humbling moments,  it is sacrifice that you can’t imagine and exhausting victories.. There is NO marriage that is  fairy tale come true. Therefore it is not surprising that the Phrase in Paul’s  famous discourse on marriage in Ephesians 5 that many couples can relate to is verse 32,  A man shall leave his father and mother and be united to his wife and the two become one flesh. This is a profound mystery. AT MANY TIMES YOU SEEM TO FEEL THAT MARRIAGE IS AN UNSOLVABLE PUZZLE, A MAZE IN WHICH YOU FEEL LOST. While I agree with all of the above there is no relationship between humans that is greater or more important than marriage. God himself officiated the first wedding. The bible states many times that marriage  next to our relationship with God is the most profound. Coming to know and love your spouse is difficult and painful but also the most rewarding and wonderful.

So why would i like you to read this book. It’s a book for spouses or one day spouses who have discovered or have no idea how  challenging the day-today marriage is and who are searching for practical and not fairy tale resources to survive the overwhelming fiery trials of marriage that you made not have heard of or don’t know that are coming, and grow together through them.  Society always says the honeymoon is over. Well read this book because you either have landed with a thud or its coming.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sound of Silence

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

