Day 423 I’m moving

9 03 2014

Attended one of close friends fathers funeral today. It was in the same chapel where we had the service for my father 9 years ago. It brought back a lot but a lot of good too. My friends dad was very loved and it was spoken so well by his children and grand children. I was very thankful to be there and have the opportunity to give thanks.

On Friday I started my son in drum lessons. I know what am I thinking but it’s not about me it’s about trying my son at a lot of things and seeing what happens. He seems to be a natural and here’s proof he’s happy!

B and drums

If you know me you know I love Southern California. I have been 3 times and it is a wonderful place for many reason, people, atmosphere, attitude, weather. I have always wanted to live there but because of cost, being married, timing wasn’t right. I always said if the opportunity came about I would jump at the chance. Well the chance to move to San Diego did come up last week. I had been working with a company for about 6 months for a position to be a regional Sales Manager for a construction supplier here in Dallas. Long frustrating process but they called last week and said we are going to offer you the job but the Dallas position had been filled within. I Said so what are you offering me. They said we want you to be a regional sales manager in San Diego close to La Jolla. I almost jumped out of my chair. I was so excited and almost said yes over the phone. They would pay for relocation, and even with the cost of living there I would still better myself than staying here. I hung up with all this excitement and then what the hell am I thinking.

Yes my kids!! I was pissed because an opportunity of a lifetime is in my face and there is no way I can leave. My kids mean everything to me there is no way in hell I would leave them and lose custody of them. To be honest I was pissed because I can’t leave and go anywhere until after my son graduates from high school. It’s not their fault but my selfish side took over. My thoughts were I could go out for a year and just see what happens, and my kids would understand, and they would support me, blah , blah blah. When my mind cleared not having them for 7 days at a time is killer much less a year. I would live in a ditch and humble myself in any way possible to make sure I was with them. They need their dad as much as their mom. The problem with men is most  men would take the job and leave their kids. It can always be justified but I can always find another job but each day I miss with my kids I can’t get another. So about 30 minutes later after arguing with myself and God I picked up the phone and told the recruiter why I couldn’t take the job. I actually think she understood that I meant it how important my kids were. She said you keep doing what you’re doing and we will find you something else. I took from it that I was qualified and I could have gotten the job but what mattered is here.

So I am moving in May 2 doors down into a bigger apartment so my kids can each have their own room. It’s not San Diego but it is my destiny and purpose to be the best dad I can be.

Actions

Information

9 responses

9 03 2014
Lisa Jolley

I am so proud of you Tyler and incredibly proud to be blessed and call you my friend…

9 03 2014
tywood12

Thank you so very much
Love ya

9 03 2014
teddylee01

Great post. That was a completely unselfish move on your part.

9 03 2014
tywood12

Thanks brother. Hardest thing and the right thing are the same.
Thanks for following and reading

9 03 2014
teddylee01

I bet man. I will tell you being around, seeing or hearing about trashy fathers who don’t even think twice about leaving their kids behind its always nice to see a dad make sacrifices for his kids sake…

12 03 2014
coastalmom

As i was reading this, I also said oh no THE KIDS! 😉
And you didn’t disappoint us♡♡
You are the BEST example of EVERY thing a Daddy should be and someday YOUR reward will be your relationship with your adult children!!
I am so proud of you. I write this in tears. But God showed you that you are worthy of a promotion and your employer sees that. And the fact they witnessed your devotion to your kids will be a plus++ mark my words.

27 03 2014
aFrankAngle

Congratulations on the promotion to a wonderful city. Just of luck to all with the move!

30 03 2014
Equipping The Saints

Thank you for your like of my post, “Sin vs Praise.” You are very kind.

31 03 2014
gpicone

Congratulations and good luck!

Leave a Reply

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Light of Darkness

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Sarcastic Beauty Queen Xx

Still figuring it out.....

