Day 260 Where is normal

2 10 2013

Its been a good busy week as always with the kids. Morgan has taken to volleyball great and Brayden is his funny adorable self. If you really listen to your kids no matter their age you learn a great lesson!  I’m learning from them that everything I do or say that either do it or remind me! Sometimes they throw things back at you and your like oh crap I’m teaching it but not living it sometimes.

Where is your normal! I know this can take on many ideas moving forward but I’m talking about the one place you can go that you feel at peace, normal, or you can’t wait to get back. For some it’s a bar and there is nothing wrong with that. Like the old show Cheers it was comforting to go where everybody knew you name. Even though it may be the same all the time it was a good place to be. For others it maybe church, or it might be work. I find it hard with the last two though because your normal is usually a place where you go so you can be the true you. Church and work people put on a good show because God forbid if people thought you may have problems.  I know others its a place a family farm, a river, a lake , the mountains, a childhood vacation spot. I do hope for everyone that you have that place and you actually get to go there. This is all came up for two reasons. This week I have been asked 1. Where is your normal? 2. Why are you still playing Rugby at your age? Honestly my normal used to be a few place. Any place where I can see the skyline of a City. When I used to go to school in Abilene you get outside of Cisco and you can see the skyline and lights of Abilene. It was pretty dark so when you saw the lights they twinkled and it was just a good feeling. In LA there are bunch of different hills that you can go on and see downtown LA. Finally there is a spot in Fort Worth where I go and can see downtown and the lights and I feel normal. I can let it all go and still have a firm grasp on reality. My true normal is the Rugby field! I was a born athlete and the sad part is this has to be my last year to play because no matter what the brain says the body is saying something else. When I’m on the filed I finally feel normal. I m with people I care about and share a common love, you get to compete and overcome, life lessons come in getting off the ground, shaking off being hurt or just feeling the dirt in your hands as you push yourself off the ground! I still feel I have the youth of my body and mind and I know what I’m doing! Mostly I don’t feel the pain of life at that time. Its my sanctuary, its my time to let “life” be put aside and be a kid for just a little bit longer.  I have to find a new normal and I know that but as this year moves along I will cherish this normal and work on a new. I wish for all of us that we find that place where we let “life” set aside and feel a piece for a bit. If you don’t have it as long as we are here we still have time.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

This is My Story, This is My Song.

This is my journey with faith, love, acceptance, redemption through God's incredible grace and mercy!

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sound of Silence

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

