Day 212 I got peed on

8 08 2013

 Just one of the many Joys of being a parent:
My son climbs into bed with me at about 3:00 this morning. As usual he clings to me even though the bed is a king size. About 5:00 this morning I woke up and said man he is really sweating until I smelled pee. There are horses that wished they could pee this much and I thought I had wet my pants. I picked him up and he was still asleep until the shower came on. I love being a dad and even the urine. Another lesson make sure Brayden pees before he sleeps.

Im posting this from a friend of mine who has become closer and closer since the divorce. He asked I keep his name quiet.  This is for anyone that has been divorced or even in a long relationship that has ended.

This Single Dad Survived His First Love, and Heartbreak, After Divorce. You Can, Too!


Recently, I experienced my first official breakup since the divorce: I got dumped

I saw it coming … and one of us would have pulled the trigger eventually. She was the first woman I’ve dated that I’ve really liked to this point. 

Aside from the divorce, it’s been a long time since I’ve had this happen and I’ve come to realize how different romantic relationships are at this stage in my life. 

First, for me, is the importance of friendship. She and I are trying to keep our friendship alive, and I am more sad at the prospect that it may not work out than at the loss of a romantic partner. 

It’s interesting how different my relationship goals are now compared to when I was a kid. Through the divorce, I kept hearing stories of people cutting loose and experiencing a period of wild sexual freedom. I’m not sure what it says about me but that’s not something I want. While I’m not seeking to get married anytime soon, I do want meaningful relationships; friendship first, then intimacy. 

The next realization is that I definitely know what I want. I totally get that everyone I meet at this stage has lived and shaped their lives, so there is no delusion of perfection like when I was a kid. For me though, I’m seeking to be in a relationship with a woman where the “what I do want” side of my list outweighs the “what I don’t want”. 

Thanks to a lot of soul searching, I know that my “do” list includes some must-haves: 

  • speaks directly and is forthright, 
  • does what they say they’ll do, 
  • is able to express needs and make decisions based on those, 
  • has 1 or more children, 
  • a career of any kind, and
  • is available

You might think that last one is obvious, but it’s been a bit trickier for me than I expected; in part because, until recently, I haven’t actually been emotionally available myself. Similarly, some of the women I have met have not been available for a variety of reasons. 

In this recent relationship, we both believed she was initially available but as we progressed and she reflected upon herself and us, she discovered otherwise. I suppose it’s a good thing that this was discovered before we went much further, and that it is enabling her to address and heal underlying issues, but still, it hurts. 

And that last point is what I think is the most positive aspect for me; that I was not only open to being hurt again, but that I have made it through. It’ll happen again; I’ll open myself to love and maybe I’ll even get hurt. But now I know I want this again and that I can DO this again!

Actions

Information

One response

9 08 2013
Ellespeth

I was married almost 30 years and then divorced. I took a tiny walk on the wild side…for a tiny moment in time. Then I found out he was married. And yes…that didn’t stop me from loving again. Thank goodness. Now I’m remarried almost 13 years. When you want love in your life – love is worth it.
Ellespeth

Leave a Reply

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Light of Darkness

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Sarcastic Beauty Queen Xx

Still figuring it out.....

