Day 132 Find the good in this crap

17 05 2013

This week will be remembered for all the crazy things that happened.  My mom started her Parkinson’s medicine, I had a close friend our age die of cardiac arrest and a large chuck of my home town was destroyed by a tornado. It was a week of gutting it up and looking for the good in the bad. That may be one of the toughest thing in the midst of tragedy. The pic below is dark but that a .5 mile wide tornado that hit my hometown. The town has pulled together great and I’m so proud of them.

Photo: Massive wedge tornado captured by Paige Burress  moving into Cleburne, TX at 8:15.

My mom has handled the Parkinson’s diagnoses much better than I expected. She is one tough cookie and always will be. My friend who died was unexpected and so slap into reality. I sat at the church memorial and thought what my kids would do without me and have I said what I needed to to the one’s I care about. Of course the answer was no but I’m so much closer than I was a year ago. I know many people’s home were destroyed but not one life was taken in my hometown.  I have lost all my stuff, the past 4 years and I know you miss it but I still have my life and its gotten a lot better. I have people who I know love me for who I am not what I do for them. I m reading a book about gratitude and it states every time to find the good in the bad. Its one of the hardest things I do. We have never been wired that way but it defiantly makes life easier when we can see things that way. I miss seeing my kids 191 days of the year but I see them the other half. My mom my have Parkinson’s but she’s still here and I get to tell her I love her everyday. When I go to my hometown everyone is alive and rebuilding.

I’m a work in progress but if I can live in the spirit of being thankful and finding the good in the crap then maybe it becomes contagious.  I would ask you to tell the people who you care about that your sorry and you love them. Tell them how great they are. If not the next time you talk to them they may be just a thought in your head.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 05 2013
WyndyDee

Rough week! You are right, enjoy your mom as long as you can. I’m in Waxahachie…so Wednesday was scary! I’m glad your friends and family are ok. Houses canbe rebuilt.

17 05 2013
WyndyDee

Reblogged this on Wyndy Dee.

18 05 2013
Karen Taylor

You’re in my prayers, dear friend. So sorry you had to go through all this. Your mother also is in my prayers. I hope I get to meet her someday. The gratitude theory is an old, tried, tested and true pathway to good mental health, Christian belief and faith. Glad you’re using it. I just talked to someone yesterday about how it can change your life. Love you — KT

18 05 2013
ioniamartin

I will pray for you and your family! You have made it through so much this week, My dad has Parkinson’s. What meds have they put her on if I may ask? He is on an experimental course of treatment and so far it seems to be going okay, but as with all experimental drugs, you never know what the effects will be down the line.

Leave a Reply

FAUZI PRESIDENT HAMIKU

Invite Rizky FAUZI as Speaker - 08986800220 (Chat WA) | SUPPORT HAMIKU SUCCESS with SHARE IT | Setelah DIBACA timbal baliknya harus di-SHARE soalnya gak gratis... - RIZKY FAUZI

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

This is My Story, This is My Song.

This is my journey with faith, love, acceptance, redemption through God's incredible grace and mercy!

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Light of Darkness

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Sarcastic Beauty Queen Xx

Still figuring it out.....

