Day 45 Valentines Day Suggestions from A Divorced Man

14 02 2013

I wanted to give a big thanks for the support and love from my last blog about my dad. It’s a sad day but when I forgave him I was able to see the greatness in that man and also I was able to forgive myself. I hope for everyone that reads this that you can get to that point.

At my man’s group last night I heard something I haven’t heard worded this way: He said marriage is a death( at least time I was like on no don’t finish this sentence) It is the death of our selfish self.

Valentine’s day is very different when single but that doesn’t mean it’s horrible. It is another expensive holiday but it’s good to see other people love each other on this day. Tomorrow maybe different but at least today you see it.

Here are a few suggestions. Women this is not just a holiday for you please remember that. And for both sexes if you are only treating the one you love good on this day then you should have the crap slapped out of you. Your relationship is 365 days  not just 1 day in February.

Give up your selfish ways. Try one at a time. Do something he or she knows you can’t. Prove to them that they are that important. You want them to respond differently it doesn’t happen without you becoming the leader. They will follow.. If your waiting on them to do it first this time next  year you’ll still be waiting.

Our relationships are not a scoreboard. You don’t do something to get something. You do it because you love them and oh by the way Your supposed to. If you want a pat on the back you will get that but if you want a loving lasting relationship you do it and keep you mouth shut.

Finally learn to say your sorry. I had a guy tell me last night I don’t know how. If your new at sorry it goes like this: I m sorry I was a real ass. See that wasn’t so bad. Sorry becomes easier and more heart-felt the more you do it.

I’m sure your asking what all of these have to do with Valentine’s day? Everything!!

 

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2013
Jenna

<>
Whether you are (or aren’t) new to apologizing, the one you shared on Tuesday morning felt sincere and was appreciated. A big thank you for teaching me something I needed to know.

Leave a Reply

iksperimentalist

a collision of science and comedy

Surviving the affair....the cheaters perspective

I cheated. Yip I did it, I am not proud of it, but that won't change a thing. This is my story of me trying to survive one day at a time. No guarantees....

Sound of Silence

There is a better place than this silence

The Time Lock

photos by amsang

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

